Saturday, March 27, 2010

Glass Candy- Feeling Without Touching

Glass Candy have returned with a new EP 'Feeling Without Touching' earlier this year, in February. They have also recorded their first ever official video for their new song entitled "Feeling Without Touching". The video was directed by Travis Peterson. Scroll down to watch it!

(All images are copyrighted by their respective copyright owners)

Glass Candy - 'Feeling Without Touching' from Travis Peterson on Vimeo.

Durana Duran and Seven And The Ragged Tiger

Following the recent expanded reissue of Duran Duran’s 'Rio' album, Capitol/EMI will release their self-titled debut and 'Seven and the Ragged Tiger' albums. The release is scheduled for March 29, 2010 in Europe and May 18th in the US in limited edition 2CD/DVD and digital audio packages. Expanded limited special editions feature remastered original albums, plus b-sides, 12-inch mixes, live recordings, music videos, and radio & TV performances, including previously unreleased material.

(All images are copyrighted by their respective copyright owners)

Wednesday, March 24, 2010

Lost Videos: Depeche Mode- New Life


Monday, March 22, 2010

Goldfrapp- Head First

Goldfrapp fifth studio album 'Head First' is released today, 22 March 2010 by Mute Records. The album was recorded during 2009 and has a heavy 80's music influence. The lead single,"Rocket" , was released on iTunes Stores around the world on January 24, 2010 and on March 8, 2010.

Friday, March 19, 2010

Next Wave: Class Actress

Class Actress is Elisabeth Harper with her new band. She was already recoding under her name until she hooked up with producers Scott Rosenthal and Mark Richardson to form Class Actress. The band were influenced by very early Madonna, Depeche Mode and some Human League. They play lush 80's synth beats and disco influenced disco pop. Their debut EP 'Journal of Ardency', on Terrible Records, the new label run by Grizzly Bear's Chris Taylor.

David Bowie- China Girl

The third video labeled as Nude Wave is a clip for David Bowie's song "China Girl". The music video was directed by David Mallet’s and mainly shot in the Chinatown district of Melbourne, and on a houseboat on Sydney Harbour, Australia. It featured the actress and model Geeling Ng lying and David Bowie naked in the surf. Since the video was too explicit for the MTV early years it got slightly censored for the airplay.


Tuesday, March 16, 2010

Instant Hit: Siouxsie & The Banshees- Happy House

"Happy House" was the first single Siouxsie & The Banshees released from their third album 'Kaleidoscope'. It was released in March in 1980, and became their second top 20 hit in the UK. The songs intorduction was sampled by Italian dance act Cappella in their song "U got to Know" during the 90's when Cappella was sued by the band and lost.
The original celebrates the 30 years anniversary.

Sunday, March 14, 2010

Vice Versa

Vice Versa was a synthpop group from Sheffield, England. The band was formed in 1978 by Stephen Singleton and Mark White. Their record label ‘Neutron Records’ played an important role in Sheffield’s late 70’s music scene. The group later transformed their sound into pop after Martin Fry joined the band and became a lead singer.

Vice Versa were formed in 1978 in Sheffield. They founded their own record label ‘Neutron Records’ and succeeded in gaining public attention with their blend of electronic which was inspired by Cabaret Voltaire and The Human League. In September 1979, they released their first record on ‘Neutron Records’, an EP called ‘Vice Versa Music 4’, including the 4 songs "Riot Squad", "Camille", "New Girls/Neutrons" and "Science - Fact". Their record label made sharp and intelligent statement with their music announcing the new decade in music. Vice Versa also won a NME’s famous song of the week. In 1980 the label released ‘The First 15 Minutes’ EP which featured unsigned, local bands of Sheffield including Vice Versa and Clock DVA. The group also supported the Human League during their first Sheffield gig.

(All images are copyrighted by their respective copyright owners)

Martin Fry who was running the fanzine ‘Modern Drugs’ interviewed the group and joined the group after David Sydenham left. Vice Versa made two more releases before they changed their sound. They released a cassette only '8 Aspects of' followed by their only single release “Stilyagi/Eyes of Christ”
During their Holland tour Martin started improvising on vocals and soon became a new lead singer after, while Mark White took over the song writing. The new concept was born. Vice Versa went pop. The rest of the history is ABC.

Wednesday, March 10, 2010

The Face - The Very Best of Visage

Visage celebrate the 30 year anniversary of the bands biggest hit "Fade To Grey". The compilation album is entitled 'The Face - The Very Best of Visage' and features several different versions and remixes of the song "Fade to Gray" and all the single releases except the "Beat Boy". It's out on Universal from March 1, 2010.

The Face - The Very Best Of Visage

Tuesday, March 9, 2010

New Young Pony Club- The Optimist

The second album by the British group New Young Pony Club is released in the UK on March 8, 2010. 'The Optimist' is the follow up to their debut album 'Fantastic Playroom', released in 2007. You can listen to the album exclusively streaming on their official Myspace page. "Lost a Girl" is unofficialy released as the first single.

Friday, March 5, 2010

B-Movie's 30 Year Anniversary Tour

The British synth-pop group b-Movie have announced their 30 Year Anniversary Tour. London is confirmed among the live dates and they will also play two venues in Spain, Barcelona on April 16, 2010 and Madrid on April 17, 2010. Check out the and other pages for more details.

b-Movie Live

Thursday, March 4, 2010

Bananarama - Love Don't Live Here

Bananarama's second single "Love Don't Live Here Anymore" is out on April 12, 2010. This is the official video for the song.

Scritti Polliti's Absolute

Scritti Politti have announced the release of their best of compilation which will be out at the end of March. The compilation will also feature two new recorded songs 'A Place We Both Belong' and 'Day Late and a Dollar Short'. The album compilation will take the title ‘Absolute best of album’.

Wednesday, March 3, 2010

Next Wave: Parallels

Parallels is an electronic-pop trio consisting of Cameron Findlay (drums), Holly Dodson (vocalist) and Joey Kehoe (live synths). Parallels has developed a loyal following and critical acclaim internationally as well as in their hometown, Toronto, since their formation in October 2008. "Visionaries" is their first full-length release composed of 12 songs, written, recorded and produced by Findlay and Dodson at Marigold studios in Toronto. They will be releasing the album independently on Marigold Records and Koch/E1 Entertainment. "Visionaries" is currently available online (Amazon/iTunes) and in stores in April 2010.

Tuesday, March 2, 2010

Groove Armada- Black Light

The sixth album by London based duo Groove Armada is now officially released around the globe. Their latest release date is March 2/3, 2010 in the US. Their album 'Black Light' is more pop orientaded with influences by Fleetwood Mac and Gary Numan. It also features several collaborations including Bryan Ferry and Will Young. Their second single "Paper Romance" is out now.