Sunday, November 29, 2009

Instant Hit: Alan Rankine- The World Begins To Look Her Age (Single)

"The World Begins To Look Her Age" was the third and the last single Alan Rankine has released as solo artist. In the early 80's he was a producer and member of the British group the Associates. This single was released on Virgin, in 1987 and appeared on the album of the same name released the year before, in 1986.

Friday, November 27, 2009

OMD- Sister Marie Says (Demo)

OMD has announced the first track from their upcoming album 'The History Of Modern' which will be released in 2010. Their demo single "Sister Marie Says" has classic OMD sound and shows the hooks and choral samples that have established the band as one of the UK's premier acts. Visit this site to download the song.

Thursday, November 26, 2009

Pet Shop Boys- Christmas EP

Pet Shop Boys will end this year with another release. They have confirmed their 'Christmas' EP release which is set to be released on several different dates in the world starting December 11, 2009 in Europe. The EP includes a cover of Madness' song "My Girl", along with a remix of it, as well as a medley of the Pet Shop Boys classic "Domino Dancing" with Coldplay's popular single "Viva la Vida" and two more songs.

WAW: Tesla Boy- Electric Lady official

Circuit 7- Video Boys

Minimal Wave presents a full length album by cult UK duo Circuit 7, founded by Martyn Good and Andy Partington. They released 2 singles: "Modern Story" and the amazing "Video Boys", and a few tracks on the legendary "Offering of Isca" compilation between 1984 and 1985. The album features the single version of "Video Boys" as well as an unreleased studio version, and other incredible tracks like "Beat Tonight", "The Force", and "Modern Story". The record is pressed on 180 gram neon green vinyl and comes in a matte printed inner sleeve with lyrics and is housed in a matching matte outer jacket.

More info

Sunday, November 22, 2009

Gary Numan live session with Little Boots

As a part of BBC 6 Music live stand synth legend Gary Numan and electro diva Little Boots and will record a duet. The pair, who have previously expressed an interest in working together, will record the collaboration at Maida Vale Studios in London next month. The collaboration will be broadcast on BBC 6 Music on December 7 and will be available on the BBC Red Button for a week from January 29.
Heaven 17 collaboration with La Roux coming soon.

Kraftwerk- The Catalogue

Kraftwerk have released the long awaited 8-CD boxset entitled 'The Catalogue'(der Katalog) containing digitally remastered editions of the classic albums 'Autobahn', 'Radio-Activity', 'Trans Europe Express', 'The Man Machine', 'Computer World', 'Techno Pop', 'The Mix' and 'Tour De France'. All albums on this compilation were released from 1974 to 2003, they are digitally remastered, with most of the cover art redesigned, including rare photographs in the liner notes that were not part of each album's original release.

Tuesday, November 10, 2009

Next Wave: Fan Death

Fan Death is one of the new interesting Canadian outfits which consists of Dandilion Wind Opaine, Marta Jacuibek and producer Szam Findlay. They say, their music is a gloriously downcast and sad symphonic disco. You might put them next to Baccara and Glass Candy and the Chromatics. To date they have released 2 12” records: "Veronica’s Veil" on Erol Alkan’s Phantasy Sounds imprint and "Cannibal" on Tokyo based Big Love Records. Their debut LP is going to be released soon.

Monday, November 9, 2009

Howard Jones- Ordinary Heroes

Howard Jones has released his ninth studio album entitled 'Ordinary Heroes'. The very special limited edition of the album is not avaliable anymore, but you can still pre-order the Standard Edition with a special 24 page booklet. The promo single "Soon You'll Go" is released limited on 250 CDs through Dtox.

Tuesday, November 3, 2009

The Mary Onettes- Islands

The long awaited new album by the Swedish group The Mary Onettes has been released in the USA today, November 3, 2009. This is the follow-up to their self-titled debut album from 2007. The second album is entitled 'Islands' with the title track "Puzzles" which was released as a single in September. Two songs from the 'Dare' EP are also included on the album.

Monday, November 2, 2009

Instant Hit: Cowboys International- Aftermath

"Aftermath" was among the first single releases for the British group Cowboys International. The song was released in 1979 with "Future Noise" as a b-side. Both songs appeared on their debut album 'The Original Sin' released in the same year. The album was reissued in 2003 with a title 'Revisited'. It included songs from 'The Original Sin' as well as other single releases form 1979 and 1980.