Thursday, April 30, 2009

Next Wave: Detachments

Detachments is a British group from London, consisting of Marshal (vox / guitar / keys), Lewis Clark (lead guitar), Max Moreau (bass / keys) and Peter Dawson (drums). They have been signed to 'Thisisnotanexit Records' releasing the debut single "Fear no Fear" . Their album is going to be produced by Tim Goldsworthy and Trevor Jackson and it is scheduled to be released in Autumn 2009. Their music takes the best from the previous decades and it is in the best way described as everything from Post punk, New wave to industrial house.
This is the video for their second single "The Flowers That Fell" which was released on April, 27 2009.

Peaches- I Feel Cream

Peaches will release her fifth studio album 'I Feel Cream' on May, 4 in Europe and May, 5 2009 in North America. The album was produced by Peaches alongside members of Simian Mobile Disco, Digitalism, Soulwax and Drums Of Death. It will be preceded by a double A-side single, 'Talk To Me'/'More'.

You can stream the entire album below

Sunday, April 26, 2009

Instant Hit: Sparks- My Other Voice

"My Other Voice" was one of the outstanding tracks on the Sparks' album 'No1 Song in Heaven' which was released in 1979. Although perfectly produced with electronic Cymbols, vocoder inputs and quite simple arrangements at the same time, it was never released as single. The whole album was produced by Giorgio Moroder and marks high point of the careers of both Sparks and Giorgio Moroder.

Wednesday, April 22, 2009

Ultravox Return to Eden

Ultravox perform "Visions In Blue" live on stage at Glasgow's Clyde Auditorium (SECC) on April 11, 2009, the second date on their Return To Eden reunion tour. The "Return To Eden" tour continuous...

Monday, April 20, 2009

Depeche Mode- The Sound of The Universe

Depeche Mode have released their twelfth studio album 'The Sound Of The Universe' today, 20 April, 2009. The album is scheduled to be released in the US and Canada a day after the official Europe release date. The album contains 13 songs and most of them were written by Martin L. Gore. The first single from the album "Wrong" has already been released in April and the video for the first single was directed by Patrick Daughters.

Simple Minds and OMD to join forces

OMD will support Simple Minds during their winter tour in UK and Ireland.The tour will feature Simple Minds performing songs from their new album 'Graffiti Soul' which is going to be released in May. The first round of tickets for the 'Graffiti Soul' World Tour [UK leg] are about to go on sale to the general public on Friday 24th April.

Tour dates:
30-11-09 Newcastle Arena
02-12-09 Birmingham NEC
03-12-09 Manchester MEN
05-12-09 Sheffield Arena
06-12-09 Cardiff CIA
07-12-09 London Wembley Arena
09-12-09 Dublin 02 Arena
10-12-09 Belfast Odyssey Arena
11-12-09 Glasgow SECC

Friday, April 17, 2009

Kim Wilde Reissues

The first two albums by the British singer Kim Wilde have been released on CD trough Cherry Red Records. Her self-titled debut album reached no.3 in the UK and it contained the hit singles "Kids in America" and "Chequered Love" and her second album 'Select' was originally released in 1982 with hit singles "View From The Bridge" and "Cambodia". Both albums also include bonus tracks.

Monday, April 13, 2009

Metric vs Yeah Yeah Yeahs

Metric and Yeah Yeah Yeahs have both released their new albums in April. Metric have released their fourth studio album 'Fantasies' from which the first single "Help Me I'm Alive" was taken, as well as their latest release "Front Row" which was featured on the March 12th episode of Grey's Anatomy.
Yeah Yeah Yeahs came back for their third release. The album was produced by Nick Launay who also produced albums for Nick Cave and Arcade Fire. The first single "Zero" was released on February 24, 2009 is great synth pop anthem to rock and to dance to.

Sunday, April 12, 2009

Pet Shop Boys > Rescue Shelter Boys!?

Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe met in an electronics shop on Kings Road in Chelsea, London in August 1981 and soon recognized a mutual interest for dance music. Few years later they decided to form a band. Starting out, the two called themselves West End, because of their love of London's West End, but later they came up with the name Pet Shop Boys, which derived from some friends who worked in a pet shop, in Ealing.
24 years after their first hit "West End Girls" they were being asked by PETA to change their name. Their new name should be Rescue Shelter Boys!!! The musician refused but also added that none the less think (it) raises an issue worth thinking about.

More after the Jump

Saturday, April 11, 2009

Next Wave: Little Boots

Little Boots is an electro-pop musician known as Victoria Hesketh. She sings, plays synthesizers, Japanese electronic instrument the Tenori-on, piano and the stylophone.
She has released three singles, two EPs and she will release her debut album 'Hands' in June. The album will feature a collaboration with non other but Phill Oakey from Human League on a song "Symmetry" as well as her latest single 'New in Town' released on May 26, 2009.

Little Boots - Mathematics

Saturday, April 4, 2009

Doves- Kingdom of Rust

Doves will release a new album on April 6, 2009. 'Kingdom of Rust' will be their fourth studio album and the follow-up to their album 'Some Cities' which was released four years ago.The album was preceded by first single "Kingdom of Rust" on March 30th. Doves also offered the album's lead track "Jetstream" as a free download on their website, starting from January 28, 2009.

Retrovision: Silicon Teens- Memphis Tennessee