Saturday, February 28, 2009

Instant Hit: Split Enz- I Hope I Never

"I Hope I Never" is the first 80's song which was released by Split Enz. This song appeared on the album 'True Colours' which was released in 1979. The song has been covered several times and there is also a slight similarity to the song "If I Know You" recently released by the Presets. The single release featured two different b-side singles and artworks for Australia and the international single release.

Wednesday, February 25, 2009

Depeche Mode- Wrong

"Wrong" is Depeche Mode's first single from their upcoming 12th studio album, 'Sounds of the Universe' The single officially debuted on February 21st, 2009, when the band performed at the Echo Awards in Germany.A video from this performance was the most viewed clip on YouTube for the two following days. The video for Wrong was posted on the official Depeche Mode Myspace page on February 20, 2009.A music video for the song was shot by Patrick Daughters in December 2008.

Tuesday, February 24, 2009

Next Wave: White Lies

White Lies is an alternative rock group from London which consists of Harry McVeigh (lead vocals, rhythm guitar) Charles Cave (bass guitar and backing vocals), and Jack Lawrence-Brown (drums). They have released their debut album 'To Lose My Life' in January this year which was preceded by four singles "Unfinished Business", "Death", "To Lose My Life" and "Farewell to the Fairground". The musical style is similar to the sound of the Killers, The Cinematics and The Teardrop Explodes. They are signed to Fiction Records and they are on tour!

White Lies- To Lose My Life Video

White Lies- Farewell To The Playground Video

Saturday, February 21, 2009

November Group

November Group was a synth-pop group from Boston which was previously known as Wunderkind. The band was confronted by two women, the husky voiced guitarist Ann Prim and keyboardist Kearney Kirby. The name of the band was taken from a group of German expressionist artists from early 20th century.

Even though dance oriented as many groups of that time, the November Group found their own formula of a new dance which was influenced by early dark dance groups like New Order and A Certain Ratio. It was powerful rhythm section which provided a great militant sound which was for both dancing and marching and it was probably coming from a factory hall. The central figures of the band were the lead singer Ann Prim and Kearny Kirby on synthesizers. Ann Prim’s vocal were modern and slick while her image showed 30’s and 40’s imagery.

Between 1982 and 1985 they released three albums on three different record labels: their s/t debut album in 1982 on Modern Method Records, ‘Persistent Memories’ in 1983 which also featured the song “Put Your Back To It” for which the video was made and "Work That Dream" which was released in 1985 on A&M Records. Their songs also appeared on several compilations and there is also an unofficial release of ‘Working That Dream’ which features songs from all three LPs.

Friday, February 20, 2009

The Durutti Column- Love In The Time Of Recession

The Durutti Column follow-up 2007’s 'Idiot Savants' with a brand new album, 'Love in the Time of Recession', due for release on March 2nd 2009. Written and played by Vinni Reilly, with drums and percussion from the Guru himself, Bruce Mitchell keyboards by Keir Stewart and Vocals by Poppy. The album opens with the "In Memory of Anthony" which is inspired by Reilly's long friendship with Factory Records impresario, Tony Wilson who died in 2007.

Listen to the tracks here:

Friday, February 13, 2009

Instant Hit: Anything Box- Come Away

Anything Box was an American synth-pop band that was formed in 1986 in Peterson, NJ. The band's name was an inspiration from a collection of short stories The Anything Box written by Zenna Henderson. They released their first albums in the 90's and their second album 'Worth' featured this wonderful synth-pop tune "Come Away". The album was released in 1994 through Orangewerks and it was produced by Gareth Jones.

Monday, February 2, 2009

Nancy Nova

Carol Holness, better known by her stage name Nancy Nova, is a singer songwriter from London, UK, largely active from 1978 to 1983. She is the daughter of Bob Holness and sister of Ros Holness of  Toto Coelo. She was a founder member of Toto Coelo, but left before they achieved popularity due to her signing a worldwide contract with EMI.

Nancy started her career at the age of fourteen playing guitar and singing in clubs in North London. She then studied for three years at the Bristol Old Vic Theatre School.She initially found success as a songwriter for Jesse Green, writing the single "Flip". She was a featured artist on Italian TV Show "Non Stop" for six weeks and her single "Akiri Non Stop" was used as the theme tune. She also wrote songs and sang on albums for other artists including Lena Zavaroni and Cleo Laine.

After working in theatre and television for a while Nancy committed herself full time to her recording career, signing to Ritz Records. She made a name for herself in Europe fronting a TV show for two months in Italy and appearing on Radio and TV promoting her album. Back in the UK she received massive radio play for her single, "The Force", which became a huge disco hit. More hits followed including "Made in Japan" and "No No No" before it became quiet for Nancy. 

In 2004 Nova released a compilation of her 80s songs on CD as 'The Force'. A year later an album of new material in the Jazz style called 'Nancy Sings Jazz'. The latest album "Blowout" is currently only available through iTunes. Now, after a long break from public appearances largely spent on her farm in Devon, Nancy continues to sing and still writes prolifically. She has a huge catalogue of self-penned songs and is recording a new album.


Sunday, February 1, 2009

WAW: Animal Collective- My Girls

A video for 'My Girls' from Animal Collective's new album 'Merriweather Post Pavilion'. Out now on Domino.

ANIMAL COLLECTIVE “My Girls” (2009) by domino

"Sound of the Universe" in Production

Depeche Mode have announced the track listing for their eagerly anticipated 12th studio album 'Sounds Of The Universe', released April 20th, on Mute. The release is preceded by their stunning new single ‘Wrong’, out April 6th - the first single to be taken from the album.

'Sounds Of The Universe' Track Listing

1. In Chains
2. Hole To Feed
3. Wrong
4. Fragile Tension
5. Little Soul
6. In Sympathy
7. Peace
8. Come Back
9. Spacewalker
10. Perfect
11. Miles Away / The Truth Is
12. Jezebel
13. Corrupt

Here a very funny video with Dave recording vocals for the song "Jezebel", through a vocoder.