Thursday, October 20, 2016

Austra Announce their third Studio Album 'Utopia'

The Canadian band Austra have announced the release of their third album. The album will be entitled 'Future Politics' and it will be their third album to be release through Domino Records since 2011. The album will have 11 brand new tracks including "Utopia" for which there is a video available and which will be the lead single from the album. 'Future Politics' is set for release on January 20th.

Blogger Widgets

Thursday, October 13, 2016

'The Time is Now' a Brand New 80's Compilation to Benefit the Hiv/Aids Research

'The Time is Now' is a brand new compilation of re-imagined 80's hits that will benefit amfAR- The Foundation for Aids Research. The compilation includes the covers of New Order’s “Bizarre Love Triangle”, Duran Duran's "Rio", Wang Chung's "Dance Hall Days" and many others. 'The Time is Now' is the brainchild and labor of love of executive producers Michelangelo Lacqua, internationally acclaimed music curator, Andy Boose, longtime producer of many of amfAR’s events and Peter Bittenbender, CEO of Mass Appeal. “The Time Is Now is a music-driven call to action in support of amfAR’s push to end HIV/AIDS in our lifetime.” said Boose. 
The 14-track album was released on October 7 by Republic Records and Mass Appeal. More info about the project and how to purchase, here.

WAW: Japan Suicide- A Mood Apart

Japan Suicide is a goth rock band from Italy which was formed in 2007 have released their second album 'We Die in Such a Place' last year. They mix Gothic rock with Post Punk and produce a very unique and dark sound. Last year in December, they have released a very arty video for the song "A Mood Apart" which was directed by Francesco Brunotti. Their album 'We Die in Such a Place' was released through Unknown Pleasures Records.


Tuesday, October 11, 2016

Depeche Mode Announce New Album and New Video Compilation

Depeche Mode have announced the release of a brand new album 'Spirit' which will be out in spring 2017. There is not much detail about it other than that it will be produced by James Ford and that it will be followed by a huge European tour. Before that, right on time if you don't have an idea for a Christmas present, comes DM's 'Video Singles Collection'. Group's First-Ever Career-Spanning Anthology will presents Group's Original Music Video Singles from 1981 to 2013 in a 3DVD DigiPak. The 3DVD set will include more than three decades worth of Depeche Mode's international hit singles as lensed for the group's mind-blowing progression of innovative and provocative music videos directed by a who's who of cinematic visionaries including Julien Temple, Anton Corbijn, D.A. Pennebaker, John Hillcoat and others. The compilation is set for release on November 11th. 
More info here

Saturday, October 1, 2016

Marc Almond's Definitive Collection 'Trials Of Eyeliner' to be Released in October

Universal Music have announced the release of 'Trials Of Eyeliner' is touted as the definitive overview and a career spanning 10 CD collection. Almond himself has personally curated the collection, allied to the 189-strong track listing. This anthology is divided into three themed sections. ‘History’ fills the first four discs with 72 of Almond’s favourite album tracks and B-sides, the three-CD ‘Singles’ section lines up all of his official Soft Cell, Marc And The Mambas and solo singles in pretty-much-chronological order and The last three CDs consists of ‘Gems’ – fan-only releases, one-off collaborations, soundtrack contributions etc. – and includes 18 tracks previously unreleased from Marc’s own collection.
'Trials Of Eyeliner' is set for release on October 28th, 2016. More info here

Retrovision: Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds- The Singer

"The Singer" was a third single release for Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds and the only single that was released in 1986. The song was originally performed by Johnny Cash as "The Folk Singer". The single was featured on Nick Cave and the Bad Seed's third album 'Kicking Against the Pricks'. Thirty years after this release, the band is back with a brand new studio album 'Skeleton Tree', out now. 

Monday, September 26, 2016

Next Wave: Boy Harsher

Boy Harsher is a Northampton, Massachusetts based electronic duo consisting of Augustus Muller and Jae Matthews. Their music is quite intense and atmospheric where minimal and coldwave synthpop is fuzzed with dramatic vocals expressed through screams and chants. They could link to early 80s recalling the music of Kas Product, Soft Cell and Suicide. 
Boy Harsher started in early 2013 under the name Teen Dreamz. The project was based on short stories written and read by Matthews then live scored by Muller. As the project matured the instrumentals became more dance influenced and Matthews’ delivery became more dynamic and spontaneous. 
In January of 2014 Teen Dreamz took on the moniker Boy Harsher. In 2015, they released their debut EPs 'Lesser Man' and 'Pain' and this year in June they released their debut album 'Yr Body is Nithing'. More info on them is available under the following links.

The Human League to Release a Four Disc Anthology

Earlier this month, the Human League have announced th release of 'A Very British Synthesizer Group: The Anthology', a career spanning anthology on four discs. Covering almost 40 years in music, the first two CDs will include the single releases all the way from "Being Boiled" up to "Sky". The third CD is packed with previously unreleased early versions of 17 songs, and the DVD which completes this set is crammed full with promo videos and, more interestingly, twenty-one their appearances on the BBC. 'A Very British Synthesizer Group: The Anthology' will be released on 18 November 2016. They will support this release with a UK tour in December. 

Track list and more

Thursday, September 8, 2016

Trevor Herion's Beauty Life to be Reissued

Long out of print debut album by Trevor Herion 'Beauty Life' will be reissued for the first time. The album was originally released in 1983 on Interdisc label and featured 4 singles, including the debut "Kiss of no Return" and "Love Chains". Trevor was also previously involved in groups The Civilians and The Fallout Club. Hope one day all his recording material will be released on a compilation. This album will be reissued through Lost 80's Record Company.

Black Marble to Release Their Second Album

Black Marble have announced the release of a brand new studio album. This will be their second release and the follow up to 'A Different Arrangement' released in 2012. The new album is entitled 'It's Immaterial' and will be their first album released on 'Ghostly'. Bass driven "Iron Lung" has been announced as the lead track form the album which is set for release on October 14th.